UN-Water Award 2011: Water for Life’ UN-Water Best Practices Award

Posted by Shofi Fida Tuesday, August 9, 2011 0 comments
Closing Date: September 30,2011:
Nominations are now open for the second edition of the ‘Water for Life’ UN-Water Best Practices Award. The nomination period is open from 30 June to 30 September 2011.
The United Nations Office to Support the International Decade for Action “Water for Life” 2005-2015/UN-Water Decade Programme on Advocacy and Communication (UNW-DPAC) and the UN World Water Assessment Programme (WWAP) organize the “Water for Life” UN-Water Best Practices Award.
The purpose of the Award is to promote efforts to fulfil international commitments made on water and water-related issues by 2015 through recognition of outstanding best practices that can ensure the long-term sustainable management of water resources and contribute to the achievement of internationally agreed goals and targets contained in the Millennium Development Goals (MDGs), Agenda 21 and the Johannesburg Plan of Implementation.
The Award is open to projects or programmes achieving particularly effective results in the field of water management or in raising awareness in water issues.
The prize is awarded yearly in two categories, one in ‘best water management practices’ and another one in ‘best participatory, communication, awareness-raising and education practices’.
In accordance with selected theme for next World Water Day, this edition’s focus is on “Water for food security”. Only best practices/projects which have considered this theme will be eligible.
The prize will be awarded at a special ceremony on World Water Day, 22 March and consists of an invitation to participate in the UN event celebrated on the occasion of World Water Day, a video produced on each of the winning best practice categories and a certificate especially designed for the award. 

More Information:


Post a Comment

About Me

My photo

Humanitarian Grant Program 
is a Partner in People Development