UNESCO seeks nominations for UNESCO/Guillermo Cano World Press Freedom Prize 2012

Posted by Shofi Fida Monday, January 30, 2012 0 comments

Closing Date: February 15,2012.

UNESCO invites Member States, as well as regional and international organizations and professional and non-governmental organizations working in the field of journalism and freedom of expression, to nominate candidates for next year’s UNESCO/Guillermo Cano World Press Freedom Prize.

Named in honour of Guillermo Cano Isaza, an assassinated Colombian journalist, the Prize is intended to honour a person, organization or institution that has made an outstanding contribution to the defence and/or promotion of press freedom anywhere in the world, especially when this has been achieved in the face of danger.
It is intended to reward journalists who have shown dedication in the name of freedom of expression and information, and to afford them the international recognition they deserve. Awarded annually, the Prize is marked by a ceremony and the winner is presented with the sum of US$25,000.
Next year’s prize will be awarded on the occasion of World Press Freedom Day, on 3 May 2012.  

Source and More Information:


Post a Comment

About Me

My photo

Humanitarian Grant Program 
is a Partner in People Development